Honey & T



The After Bite

In continuing the “I’m quitting in February, please don’t try to stop me” conversation from last week’s post, let’s discuss the thereafter.  In a nutshell, I really don’t know what will happen.  I have a few tricks up my sleeve, but the truth is, February is sort of the unknown.  Yep, it’s a big, fat question mark.  Make that ten.

PhotobucketSource

Going back to last week’s post, the point of this break is to gain experience as a coordinator.  I’ll try to get a gig as a venue coordinator, but I’m not placing any bets on this scenario.  Instead, I’m going to look for ways to gain experience indirectly.

The Plan:

  • Take a beginning photography class at a community college.

Class is held once a week, it will cost about $200 including books and I’ll learn about lighting needs for the venue.  Plus, I’ll be getting some much-needed technical skills so I won’t need to hire a pro!

  • Join Toastmasters for Women. 

There is a local chapter specifically targeted to females, and I cannot wait to be a part of that community.  I’m a terribly shy person, and I can’t think of a better cure for it than Toastmasters.  The group meets once a month.

I’ve been a wedding day-of coordinator for a few years now; it’s how I was introduced into the industry and where I fell in love with it.  Having a full-time job prevents me from taking more than three clients a year.  Being a DOC is a great way for me to see different venues and get a behind-the-scenes look.  The extra income during my unemployed days doesn’t hurt either!

Seriously, doesn’t that sound so cool?  I love architecture.  I brake for great design when I’m driving.  I can’t get enough of it, and my future venue is going to benefit from my time spent volunteering at MAK.  Plus, they host a lot of events and rent the spaces out.  If they’re willing to take me, I’d love to devote a few hours a week in the amazing space.

  • Focus on writing this blog.

There’s more that I want to talk about aside from Project V.  For instance, I want to start posting about other places and design elements that inspire me.  I want to talk about my own wedding planning experience.  I feel that Honey and T needs to be developed, it’s still so young.

  • Wildcard

Again, it’s the big question mark!  There are so many other things I want to do (e.g. take the California Food Safety Course), but I know I need to pace myself.

And then there’s that pesky thing called health insurance.  Our wedding date is in June, so that would mean three months until I can get on my fiance’s policy.  We considered eloping, but doesn’t health care take the romance out of a wedding?  I’ve decided to just take the gamble.  If I get sick, I have the choice of retroactively enrolling in COBRA.  COBRA’s not cheap, so let’s all cross our fingers on a healthy me.

Leave a Reply

