Honey & T



Project V: Check-In Tuesdays

Here starts “Check-In Tuesdays” for what I have dubbed Project V (aka I want a venue, pretty please?).  So what have I accomplished in the year and a half since realizing my dream?  Well, to an outsider, it doesn’t seem like much.  To me, at least I know I’m trying.  This is what I’ve got:

I study up venues on wedding blogs.  It doesn’t matter where in the world the venue is located for this assignment.  This allows me to see what’s out there, what couples are looking for, logistically what features of a venue (e.g. bridal room with a private washroom), square footage versus capacity and so forth.

I keep my eyes peeled for real estate in Los Angeles County, Riverside County and Ventura County.  I’ve gone back and forth on where I wanted the location to be many, many, many times.  It’s hard.  I live in Los Angeles proper, but this city is flooded with competition.  Everything and anything is a potential wedding location, can I really keep up?   I’m not familiar with Ventura County, but locations in the vicinity of beaches won’t cost a fortune like it would in L.A.  And Riverside County?  It’s cheap.  There’s a reason it’s cheap, of course.  You’re far removed from the metropolis and any chance of mild weather, and it’s a desert.  Palm Springs has experienced a revival of sorts thanks to trendy hotels like the Ace popping up.

Ace Hotel Reception by Sarah Yates Photography

I am a wedding day-of coordinator.  This is the quickest way I could immerse myself in the industry.  I am my own boss, I choose my clients and it doesn’t require that I have prior experience.  I tried to apply for jobs, but no one’s willing to hire someone without experience (now how am I supposed to get experience if you won’t hire me?).  I have met incredible people and learned so much on the job.  I’m not perfect, but I take with me every lesson that comes my way.

I am blogging about my experience, because opening myself up has a two-fold benefit: keeping myself in check and hopefully, attracting followers.

I am planning a wedding.  The reason for it isn’t related at all to my dream, just that I get to marry my dream man!  Luckily, the process allows me to put myself in a potential client’s shoes and network with others in my industry.

There you have it, my Tuesday check-in is complete.

Leave a Reply

